Inner Wheel District 316

Home About IIW Association Committee District Committee Office Bearers Events Goals Newsletter Gallery

Glimpses of Inner Wheel History

  • The first Inner Wheel Club of the world - The Manchester Club (England) - was born on the 10th January 1924. This day is observed as the Inner Wheel Day.
  • The inaugural metinng was held in Manchester on 15th November.
  • The first Inner Wheel District No. 5 (England) was born in 1928.
  • The first Inner Wheel Club was born in Ballarat, Australia in 1931.
  • The first overseas Inner Wheel District. The Netherlands District, was formed in 1948. later the same was numbered as 26.
  • On 6th May 1934 the Assocition of Inner Wheel Clubs in Great Britain and Ireland came into existence.
  • In 1967, International Inner Wheel was formed. The first Conference was held at Brighton and Mrs. L. Weightman became the first President of International Inner Wheel.
  • The first IIW Convention was held at The Hangue, Netherlands.
  • In 1949 it was decided to appoint a full time salaried Secretary to meet the needs of the business side of the Association of GB & I. Mrs. Elizabeth Eaton was the first Secretary.
  • In 1936 it was decided to mark the occasion of a Club's formation by granting a Certificate of Membership which is now called Charter.
  • The first Club in India, Inner Wheel Club of Ahmedabad was formed in 1955.
  • Mrs. Minnie Camma was the Charter President of Inner Wheel Club of Ahmedabad and the first Club President of India.
  • The first Inner Wheel District in India was formed in 1965. The District at first was numbered 75 and later as District 305.
  • Mrs. Malti Rana was appointed the first IIW Representative in 1968.
  • The Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India and Sri Lanka was born on 1976. Mrs. Raksha Mehta was the first President of the Association.
  • IIW Presidents from India : Our Country's Jewels :
    - Mrs. Minna Kapur in the year 1986-1987.
    - Mrs. Anita Agarwal in the year 1993-1994.
    - Mrs. Kamala Ramkrishnan in the year 2007-2008.
    - Dr. Pallavi Shah in the year 2010-11.
    - Abha Gupta for the year 2014-15
  • The First Conference of the Association was held in the year 1977 in Mumbai.
  • Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are no more in the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India.
  • Inner Wheel Club of Port Blair is the first Club in the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands added to the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India in 1993-1994 by District 329.
  • A book of practical guidelines for Association, District and Clubs were prepared and printed on behalf of Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India by Past Association President Dr. Saroj Lalwani in the year 1979-1980 (First Edition), and the revised guidelines in the year - 2006-2007 (Second Edition) and in 2012-13 (Third Edition).